It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Wow! My Journey
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:48 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

This is my first time writing on this forum. I hope I can help somebody like many of the people here have helped me. For me, its part of my recovery to help others if I can. I, by no means, have all the answers, I will write from my experience and I will be honest to you with what I am going through. I am tapering down right now and so far so good down below .5mg, I have found for me, at this point, that I can do around .5mg one day(split up in 2 .25mg strips) and the next day .25mg(split up in to 2 .125mg strips) one in the am and one in the late afternoon. A quick story. I got hooked on pain meds going through a terrible time with a knee injury. Instead of getting surgery, I masked the pain with norco 10/325 downed it with red bull, several times a day for 3.5 years. started at 6 a day, went as high as 20 in a day. I was taking mainly norco and percocet 10/325. By the way I had the surgery for my knee 2 years in to my addiction and continued using the pain meds anyway(isnt that a surprise!!). For me there reached a time that I just did not want to do it anymore and I was just wanting to be done. I did a lot of research on suboxone, which in the course of doing the research I found this great forum! Anyway before I stopped the pain meds I found through all of your experiences as well as others on other sites the information I needed. I know there is not one right answer for everyone, but let me tell you, I was in the dark about all of this. I went to my pain DR. and told her I wanted to stop!! It felt empowering to me that I made that decision, I was doing this for me. After staying off for about 30 hours i went to her office, she wanted to induce me at 16mg, I said no, I will do 4mg and see how i feel in a hour. I actually got through with only being induced by the 4mgs I did ta