It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:53 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

My brother happened to stumble into his friends stash's of subutex that he kept in a Tylenol bottle. As a side note my brother, has no habit of using opiates AT ALL. It just happens to be a VERY bad coincidence that last night he took a 5mg Vicodin.

So my brother is now experiencing what sounds like withdrawals, but I'm not a doctor so I can't say whether or not he is but the research i did makes it sound like he is. But he took a whole 8mg Subutex from his friends stash. my bro did not know this was sub (obviously), but his friend feels horrible about it, and is now regretting stashing them in such an innocent looking bottle.

Anyways to cut things short, my question is, Is my brother infact experiencing W/D's or is he experiencing something else. What happens to people who use any Sub product and DO NOT need it at all (have no previous history with abusing opiates, or any sort of opiate habit)? If he is experiencing W/D's how long do you guys estimate it to last?

Please any information will greatly help.
Thank you so much in advance.
Sincerely a very concerned brother.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 1:27 am 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

It could be a couple of things. First, did he swallow the subutex? For the active drug in it, buprenorphine, it needs to be taken sublingually. If he didn't let it dissolve underneath his tongue, which would make sense if he didn't know what it was, then not much of the buprenorphine was digested. It is a very strong drug so all he really needed was a tiny, tiny bit if he's not used to opiates for him to feel bad. What symptoms is he having? Good luck I hope he feels better.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 1:47 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member