It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:00 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I came across this article while reading about Suboxone and subutex on my break at work today, it's a bit long, but it's really worth the time to read,imo.
here's the link,I hope it works, I'm new at this, so someone let me know if it doesn't work please, thanks
Lizzie
http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/18/healt ... -care.html

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:41 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

It worked Lizzie! Thanks for sharing!

Q

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:05 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

yo Lizzie! That article included comments from people on this forum. The writer, Deb Sontag, asked for forum members to share their stories about a year ago... and some did. Note that the link you provided is the second half of the article, and the first half is here: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/17/health/in-demand-in-clinics-and-on-the-street-bupe-can-be-savior-or-menace.html

Deb Sontag exchanged dozens of emails with me in the months before the article came out. Frankly, I was disappointed that she gave so much weight to the 'controversial' stuff. She said, for example, that Suboxone has been linked to 400 deaths-- and she compares that number to the deaths of people in methadone programs. She didn't compare the number to the number of overdose deaths overall--- which are over 35,000 EACH YEAR. She didn't mention that most of the diversion is not from 'partying' but rather from attempts at 'self-treatment' by people who can't find a buprenorphine doc.