It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 5:31 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I know after birth mothers have postpartum depression and also me considering me doing adoption but im going to start on medications to deal with that but im wondering why I've been so snappy while taking subutex or tapering myself I can be happy then all of a sudden im snapping mad yelling etc then when I take my subutex im fine im thinking I've become dependent on them which im not a doctor I can't tell

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 9:09 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

When a person tapers of ANY drug with opioid effects, including buprenorphine, that person will have decreased activity in opioid brain pathways-- meaning less happiness, less pleasure, etc. It isn't 'because of suboxone' or buprenorphine; it is because at some point, you developed a tolerance to opioids. As long as you keep taking buprenorphine, you avoid the need to re-train your receptors, and to eliminate your tolerance. You could stay on buprenorphine forever; I have people who have taken it for many years. It is a very safe medication, and the tolerance to buprenorphine doesn't change over time (because of the ceiling effect). But if you decide, for some reason, that you have to stop buprenorphine, you will go through a couple months of withdrawal-- irritability, fatigue, depression, etc--- until your receptors get regenerated and back to normal.

Since many people just go back to using opioid agonists, I generally recommend just staying on buprenorphine. I've treated many people with the medication, and it is about the safest thing out there to prescribe... but buprenorphine allowed you to stop pain pills without withdrawal at some point in the past, and that withdrawal is still waiting for you.