It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:48 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hello everyone!

I have been super busy running around today but had this post in my head for the past few hours, so wanted to write it down while I have a pseudominute to sit :) My kids are eating dinner so nows as good of time as any! When my clients (again, I am a therapist) are facing an internal struggle, or the struggle is within me, I usually follow a 3 question sequence to guide them (or me) to the right answer. Who. Who cares? I don't say that in the sarcastic quip way that many teenagers answer with... I genuinely ask, WHO cares about the outcome? You? Family? Society? If you are battling with the decision to get off Suboxone as fast as you can, I urge you to think about this question first. If you do not know, give it some thought. The next question is WHY. Why are you struggling with this choice, whatever it may be. Is it a "pride thing"? Do you equate your choice to good person vs bad person? Strong person vs weak person? Again, if you do not know the answer to why, give it some thought. The last question is Then What? Whichever choice you make, what comes next. Assume you are dead set on getting off opiates completely... You are doing it because you care, and because you feel that you do not want to be dependent on a pill. OK, then what? Are you going to focus all of your mental energy on staying sober? If someone asked you what you are proud of in your life, is sobriety going to be it? Then What. Does your choice affect your future as much as you thought it did, or is it a feeling of being immoral and weak that is driving you? I took some time off because I had to turn inward before I could reach out. Being completely honest with myself along this line of questioning led me to my ultimate choice, to stay on subutex. Who? I answer to me and my husband and my children. Why? I have a very good, busy