It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:17 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Who is this person?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 8:48 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi,

I have been taking 10/325 norco for the past 2 years 20 a day. My pain management doctor gave me a script for 360 a month and then I would add to that.....I struggled to get through the day even on that many. It was awful. I tried to get off on my own and could not do and honestly would not do it. I have lost so much respect for myself and am so ashamed of myself that words can't even describe it. I am a college graduate with children who knows better.
Yesterday was my first day without the norco and also the first day of suboxone. I took 2mg to begin with and still had some issues so decided an hour later to take 2mg more and that's when it hit me I felt like a regular person. I feel like I used to feel like I did BEFORE drugs and to be honest I forgot how it feels. Instead of my mnd being set on when can I take more medicine I am thinking about things like what laundry needs to be done, what are we going to have for dinner. Is this too good to be true? Or is this what it's like to take this medicine? Will my body become used to it in a day or so and then I will go into a deep depression - which is what has happened in the past when I tried to quit. I would love to hear your feedback and also some experiences of how long you were on it.....Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:09 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hello newstart - Congratulations on the start of your addiction remission. Isn't it great to feel "normal" again? What you're describing is pretty common - that feeling of normalcy when taking sub for the first time. As for going into a deep depression upon stabilizing on it, well, everyone is different, but I don't see why it would happen just because of the sub.