It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:52 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:31 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello. This is my first post. I have been reading the forum for almost six months, every since I got clean and started on Suboxone. Thank you all, even though you did not know it, you provided me with a great deal of support, just by reading other posts. Anyway, on to my question. What do you do if you have an issue that causes a great deal of pain while you are taking suboxone? I have fibromyalgia, this is how I ended up on pain killers, and eventually dependant on them. I now have a ruptured disk in my back, and am awaiting my visit with a neuro surgeon..but that won't be for some time. I am in so much pain sometimes. Like last night, I woke up in discomfort, and then got up to take some naprosyn(like Aleve) welll, I bent over just right and ended up sobbing. I have never done that before due to pain, as I said, I have fibro so I am pretty used to "grinning and bearing it" But this was horrible shooting, throbbing, unrelenting pain. Eventually, my husband had to help me get back into bed and with ice, a muscle relaxer, and half a Sub. I got back to sleep. Is there any medicine to take with Suboxone that is non narcotic that works for pain? I know they say that suboxone should work, and it does right after I take it, but the pain benefit seems to wear off before it is time to take the next one. I don't want to get into trouble again by taking "just one more" to help with pain like I did with the pain killers.(which were oxy's) We all know where that went....but I am hitting a brick wall. I asked my sub doc what happens if I have pain issues and he asked if I was looking for an excuse to use again. This totally offended me. If we could have had an actual conversation about this, maybe I would be in this situation not knowing what to do. Thanks to anyone who will or can answer. This forum is awesome and has