It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:30 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:48 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I'm a newbie, just got off 2 years of oxys for sub. The transition went really well, started with 4 around 2pm and took another 4 this evening when i started feeling the creepy crawlies coming back. AFter the fact, it feels like waaayyy too much, and I wish I had either waited or taken less of the 2nd dose.

Anyway, I just had several days of w/d, & I don't want to get back there. How much (if any) should I take in the morning?

I'm hoping to do a relatively short taper with these...any suggestions? I'd like to be off in 3 weeks. Would that be enough to do it comfortably?

Thanks for any comments. I'm really glad to have found this.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:05 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

[font=Comic Sans MS]Hello Jolene and welcome to the forum!!!
Congratulations on your decision to begin recovery! You've definitely come
to the right place. You'll find lots of supportive members here!

That happens to a lot of people. They take that second dose, and then it seems like too
much after the fact. If you are trying to do a relatively short taper and just use the
suboxone for detox, I would get your dose as low as you possibly need. Just enough to get
you out of...and keep you out of withdrawal. Suboxone is a VERY strong med.

If this were me, I wouldn't even take my dose today. Wait until the morning, and go with
4mg again. If you feel like you need another dose later in the day, then try 2mg or 1mg.
But you should really try to just dose once per day. It is hard to get out of the habit of
dosing multiple times a day, especially in the beginning. But with suboxone, you only NEED to
dose once daily. Unless of course you are dosing for pain, or whatever.

For your purposes, like I said, try to get that dose as low as keeps you comfortable. 4mg should do it.