It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Well... Hi there!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:54 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi.. My name is ...errr.... J Cizzle .. I'm 25 years old and was addicted to oxycodone for approx. 2 years, then in an attempt to get off I switched to methadone maintenance, which I remained on for two years until I realized that methadone was (in my situation) not very helpful with quitting. I found that it put me in a deep haze ... I am a hip hop writer/artist and have been for the past 10 years, but it seemed as if the methadone put some sort of creativity block in my brain. where as before I could sit and write countless pages of lyrics with no problem, but while on methadone I was lucky to scribble out a couple lines.. About 4 months ago I decided I was sick of being held back from my dreams and went cold turkey off of 160mgs of methadone.. I was good for about 5 days, then serious withdrawal hit which is when I proceeded to a detox program which I THOUGHT was going to put me completely in the clear but my last few days in the hospital they induced me onto suboxone saying that the methadone had damaged my brain chemistry so severely, going cold turkey would be extremely dangerous. My doc started me out on 16mgs a day... But I did my own research and found that that was quite a high dose and wasn't really necessary so I went against doctors orders and only did 8mgs a day for the first month... The second month the doctor still insisted on 16mgs even though I told him 8 was working just fine, so against the doctors orders again I lowered my dose to 6mgs I do 4 in the morning because I usually wake up super early and 2mgs in the afternoon around 2pm and that's what I have been doing the past 3 months.. Even though my doctor STILL thinks I should be on 16mgs a day for whatever reason (my thoughts is that these doctors get big bank for keeping people on these meds) ...