It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:34 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:41 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hey there,

So I am a pharmacist and I'm not the devil lol. I try to treat ALL patients with kindness, respect, and professionalism. I apologize for those in the field who have not always been to suboxone patients... BUT my question to this forum-

Why do I have so many picky patients who want a certain color/brand/certain word on their suboxone generic tablets? I have patients who only want DARK orange, they refuse the lighter color. I have patients who ONLY want white tablets. I just want to understand. It's hard for me to keep up with who wants what brand, to stay prepared at the more popular color/brand at the moment...

I'm all ears. This creates a bit of a headache for me at times... If I could understand what makes one better than another, maybe I could find it less annoying.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:58 pm 

Hi Pharmacygirl3, Welcome! Happy to have a voice of the pharmaceutical world here! I think it is similar to brand loyalty.....as an example, some people feel that only Tylenol will cure their headache and will not use a store brand or think about Ibuprofen instead! As far as color, I have seen people refuse to buy baby aspirin if it was not Bayer and that orange color! It is fascinating what people get in their head! This is the only explanation that I can think off! Please, stick around! It will be nice to have an expert here!

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:15 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Thanks for posting. I have never heard of a pharmacy offering patients a choice of generic. I have about 40 patients taking generic buprenorphine or buprenorphine/naloxone. The pharmacy (I deal with about 30 different ones) gives them one option, take it or leave it. I have seen patients get switched 3 times in 4 months, I presume because that was the best wholesale price for the month.