It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:46 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:27 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi all,

I understand most of us are not doctors, but I need advice.

I have been using 30-60mg of oxycodone, ingested, per day, in the form of Roxicet or Percocet, for about 3 months. During this period, there have been periods of several weeks where I did not use and I was incredibly lethargic, feeling serious depression and moderate malaise. Getting out of bed was almost impossible, my 75 degree apartment felt freezing and it was only a matter of time where I would get my hands on some more. After being on this dose for about 5-6 weeks straight, I needed a change. As I am currently studying to become a healthcare professional, I did not feel comfortable disclosing this information to my psychiatrist as I do not want Suboxone to appear on my medical history/PMP history.

In short, I am waiting to obtain some Suboxone on my own and I am wondering what a safe, sensible dose would be. 1/4 strip? 1/8 strip? I will find out the dosage amount soon.

Most importantly I currently take:

300 mg Wellbutrin
20mg Celexa
1 mg Alprazolam (Xanax) at bedtime

I know I have to be extremely careful about combining the xanax with the Suboxone, but I believe that if the dosages are separated by 10-12 hours, I may be able to take .25mg - .50mg of xanax safely.

Please let me hear some opinions.

Thank you so much!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:03 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

man, man, man.....

Your BEST chance at stopping opioids, and salvaging a career in healthcare, is to stop NOW, and get to as many meetings as you can. I favor AA over NA in my area, only because the NA these days as so much short-term sobriety, whereas most AA meetings have a good group of old-timers-- which is what every newcomer needs.