It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 12:09 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Im new to the idea of going beyond just researching and am looking for actual advice from others who are in my position and im hoping that this helps. This is my story, one of my best friends has been gone through the addiction to pain killers, which were presented to him by doctors, and when he couldnt get them through the doc. he went to finding them elsewhere.. the use of the pain killers stopped after almost 5 years of heavy use when he went to a new doctor and was given subs, he has been on them for 4 years with no actual attempt to lower the dosage. he says that he wants to stop taking them, tells that he is afraid of what he will be like without them and the withdrawals if and when he does stop taking them. im really worried that the "one day" expression will never become anything but an expression and a dismissal of not only my concerns but those of his families. i take him to the doc. once a month, and have been, and i feel like i am being an enabler almost, when i know how much he does one day want to be off of them all together. i dont even like to talk to him about it anymore because it turns into an argument and his temper changes like a light switch so i just drop the subject and apologize even when im not the one who brings it up. how can i talk to him about it, especially when he attempts to confide in me on the topic of lowering the dosage up to me when he just flies off the handle and just repeatedly asks if i want to see him sick? if anyone is or has been in this situation i would greatly appreciate any insight that can be given.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 9:32 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi trying!