It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 1:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:36 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

This sounds pretty stupid, but hear me out. One of my old recovery / using buddies recently did exactly this. He stopped taking Suboxone then used IV heroin for 1 week. He then stopped taking the heroin and detoxed. The withdrawals only lasted a week, what you'd expect from a heroin detox anyway. It was as if using heroin cut the buprenorphine withdrawal in half.

Now it's 3 or 4 weeks later and he hasn't used. Good for him! I really hope he makes it. It's definitely a risky way to go about it, however he wasn't exactly clean all the time while he was on Sub anyway.

What do you guys think? Stupid?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:01 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I'm no expert, but there are some things that are just common sense. I would HIGHLY suggest, NOT doing that. For more reasons than I could possibly name. First and foremost, heroin is a street drug, unregulated, bought from street drug dealers, of which there is absolutely zero controls on its production. Every time you use heroin, you are playing Russian roulette. Plus mixing a suboxone detox (which will include opiate cravings) with heroin use seems to me like a recipe for disaster. I've heard of some of my "friends" doing dumb things to, and claiming that they "weren't so bad", but that one is pretty close to the top of the list of "things NOT to do".