It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 9:14 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

As many of you know I am a student working on becoming a counselor(addiction studies). I recently had a situation at school that was quite shocking. As part of my education I have to volunteer at a practicum site (treatment center). My teacher for this class is very crude at times- and I just chalked it up to her being ballsy, nothing more. She set me up with a supervisor at the practicum site and I called this woman to talk about when I would start. She asked me if I was in recovery and I said yes. She asked where I attended meetings and I told her that I did not attend local 12 step meetings now, but that I have in the past and found they did not work for me personally. I told her I have worked the steps, she asks what step I am on, how long have I been clean, who is my sponsor, etc- bombarded me with questions. I finally stopped her and said that I have been finding my support through online groups and family, and that my recovery is better than ever. She did not like my answer and said we would need to speak about it further if I was going to work there. I assured her that I knew the program was based on 12 step recovery and that my personal recovery choices would not interfere with my abilities as a professional.