It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:04 am 
One Month or More
One Month or More

My sub Dr urine tests me every few months with a dipstick cup. Of the last five tests, TWO showed oxycodone. He sent them to the lab and I was exonerated.
I asked to see the last lab report. I was positive for buprenorphine, norbuprenorphine, and NOROXYMORPHONE. The last is a metabolite of naloxone--AND of oxycodone.

This is very scary as I work in healthcare and could be subjected to random tests. I can't just tell them "oh that's a false positive from the suboxone I take every day" or I'll lose my job and worse.

We've all always been told sub doesn't cause false positive for other opiates. Well that's not entirely true. The dr said I'm his only patient this is happening to... Just wanted to get the word out on this. I take 16mg a day BTW, generic tablets.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:32 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Interesting... there are a number of articles out there about the cross-reactivity. Apparently it is almost impossible to absorb enough naloxone to get measurable amounts of noroxymorphone in urine http://www.clinchem.org/content/55/7/1434.full , but you are evidence that it can happen. I use point of care dipstick tests all the time, and I've never had a patient come up positive for both buprenorphine and oxycodone (in thousands of tests). But they use immune-assay technology, so I suppose it depends on the part of the oxycodone molecule that is detected by the antibody in the specific brand of test.

What I find interesting.... is that the cross reactivity is from naloxone, NOT buprenorphine. Everyone acts as if plain buprenorphine is SO much more dangerous to prescribe... when treating you with buprenorphine, instead of with Suboxone, would solve your cross-reactivity problem.