It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Tramadol Addiction
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:37 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I have been battling an addiction to tramadol for about 2 years now. I started using it recreationally, it actually got me really high and for a long time. After awhile my tolerance got so high that I could no longer get high, I take it to simply keep withdrawals away. I am taking 30 or more a day, its gotten that bad. I know a lot about the drug, and I know the risk of seizures. I am fortunate to never have one because I have taken over 15 at one time.

I have slipped into a deep, isolated depression over this addiction, I dont even know if its the tramadol causing me to feel so depressed or if I am just so depressed because of the situation I am in. Probably a bit of both.

I have to get off this, but I am not one that really does well with tapering, and at my doses tapering would take 6 months. I need the feeling that I am not taking anything but I know I cant go cold turkey off this amount. I have a very good job, however I just started in March. The problem with my job is that I have to travel every week with a week here and there were I stay in the main office. So I cant just call in sick when I have to travel. However, the travel might lighten up here soon.

I never even considered Sub because of all the horror stories I heard about the withdrawals, however I am at a stage where maybe it is the way to go.

Can you take Sub for a small amount of time during the cold turkey w/ds of the tramadol and then quickly taper off Sub before you become addicted to it? Or will Sub simply delay the withdrawal process of the tramadol? I dont really know what Sub does besides get people to stop taking massive amounts of opiates on a daily basis. I dont know what you feel like while on it, and if it can be used for short term cold turkey withdrawals for other meds.