It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 6:35 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi, I'm new to this so I will try to make my question as short as possible. I am on day 10 of using the suboxone film to treat addiction to hydrocodone. When I sought help, I was up to 20+ 10mg pills a day. I was started on the suboxone 8mg film, two each day. The first 3 days I felt great and thought this is too good to be true. I was having minimal side effects. Day 4 up until yesterday, each day got worse. Saw my dr Thursday and he insisted I stay on the 16mg per day. By Friday I was sleeping constantly and couldn't even leave my house. My husband made me go out for a little while last night thinking it would make me feel better. But I felt horrible, came home went to bed and slept until 11:30am. I woke up feeling the exact feeling I used to feel when I had taken way too many pills the day before. So, now I'm basically scared to take any suboxone at all! I did take 4mg so far today. I'm just wondering how long it will take for the 16mg a day to get out of my system? I almost don't want to take any at all! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 7:37 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

hello,,,, and welcome.........

well, if you do some reading on Dr. J's blog, it says the the "mean" half life of suboxone, depending on a persons wieght, metabolism and all that, is around TWO DAYS
of course it can vary alot person to person, but basically you CAN dose every other day, unless you are a person with a fast metabolism
I remember there were times I couldn't afford my meds, and I really was surprised to feel pretty much FINE for three or four days.....
when your on doses above 8-12 mg, the suboxone "stacks" in your system as well.....