It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 12:34 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I'm new to this form and I don't know who else to ask. I've been reading posts off this web page for years so here it goes!!
I've been on suboxone on and off for years. My first time in treatment the suboxone would make me so high more high then I would get taking pills and that high lasted for over a year! Then I tapered I was sober for a year ect... anyways I'm back on suboxone and it doesn't make me high at all, change my mood nothing and that's fine I'm glad it doesn't but I'm wondering if I just stop taking it will I still detox? This might sound dumb but I though since it's not doing anything to me like NOTHING besides help with craving why would I still detox? I'm supposed to take 2/8mgs a day but I only take 1 the suboxone hurst my stomach and make me feel sick :( so please help me answer my stupid question....

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:30 am 
Super Poster
Super Poster

Sublime,

What you're describing is the way Suboxone should make you feel...normal with no cravings. If you stop cold turkey from 8 mg a day, in 2-3 days you will begin to experience powerful withdrawal. If you plan to stop, you need to follow a slow, methodical taper. There are several threads on hear that discuss tapering.

Thanks,
Morphing

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 9:34 am 

Hey Sublime and welcome!!

Unfortunately ur gonna go through the withdrawal process regardless if u ever felt a thing when u take ur sub. I don't know how you got a high off of it for a whole yr but each person is different. This go around what ur explaining is how sub works. U feel completely normal and no cravings. But you'll still have withdrawal from stopping. But if u taper down as low as u can, u can make the process much more tolerant. Most ppl go slow and let their body adjust to each drop before dropping again.