It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: the ceiling effect????
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:16 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I am wondering what the ceiling effect is that I hear everyone talking about. Will someone explain it to me thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:29 pm 
The ceiling effect means that once buprenorphine saturates all your receptors that using more bupe is pointless after that and has no effect. I guess the ceiling is somewhere around 4mgs and after that anything more is just going to possibly add more duration to the effects. Full agonist opiates apparently will increase in effects when taking more even when the receptors are saturated. Im not an expert on it or anything so I hope that makes sense its just what I have heard on this forum.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:24 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

so do you have to be on subs for awhile to get the 'ceiling effect'? and can the ceiling effect come from 4 mgs for everyone or does it vary from person to person?

""Full agonist opiates apparently will increase in effects when taking more even when the receptors are saturated.""

I am not sure what this means.
I do notice that if i take 4 mgs I am still having cravings so I try and take about 2 more mgs and I dont really feel any different. I dont know I am confused about the whole topic

Our Sponsors
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:58 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member