It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 12:30 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Firstly, thanks to the Doctor and to all that are involved, engaged and helping others.

I have been on our orange hexagonal friend for about a year and a half. I’ve been tapering for about 4 - 5 months very slowly and with no problems or symptoms. I was taking up to 32 mg for about a year and have tapered down to 3 mg/day (1.5 mg bid). I thought that 3 mg a day was really a very low dose…NOT! From what I have read on this forum I’m just starting the very beginning of making my sub-descent. How does my taper plan look to those that have bravely gone before me? I am flying blind. My well meaning doctor has no clue. She took the 8 hour CME on-line Bupe course to get her DEA “X” qualification so she can write for Suboxone but really had no idea what she’s doing.

I read many posts about stopping suboxone and I’m concerned. I did read many similar posts about the hell from stopping benzodiazepines and those really concerned me too. But I stuck with my benzo taper plan and I got off of an insane amount of Xanax and had ZERO symptoms. So, that helped my perspective (and confidence) a lot. I’m off of Xanax for over 2 years now, by the way.

Currently, I am reducing every 7 days. I am going down .5 mg and alternating evening dose reduction, then morning dose reduction, etc. Planning to reduce this Friday to 1.5 mg/1.0 mg then in 1 week 1.0 mg/ 1.0 mg. I am excited to be on a single 2 mg tablet per day, seems like a milestone.

When I get to 2.0 mg per day I am going to slow the reduction down further to increments of .25 mg, and then again slower still when I reach 1 mg per day to increments of .125 mg (I used a scalpel and a lot of patience to cut 2 mg tablets into .5 mg, .25 mg and .125 mg pieces!) I have even read about “dust doses” after that.

So here are my basic questions: