It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 4:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 7:31 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I am new to suboxone, after spending 5 years abusing pain meds for chronic pain. I am an addict. I'm sure I'm not the first person to have done this, so I'm hoping to get advice on how to fix my mistake.

I am prescribed 3 8mg films each day. Being the addict I am, I have taken way too much, probably chasing that old habit. I'd like to know how to get back on track. I've used approx one third of my monthly supply in 3 days. If I cut back to 1 or 2 a day, will I find myself in withdrawal? What side effects can I expect to experience by starting off so high and then rapidly cutting back? I feel like such a failure!

Thank you for any help you can provide!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:11 pm 
I don't think you should have too much w/d cutting back to "one a day" (is one 8 mg??)

I don't know how many you have left..but I suggest you cut back as much as you need to to not run out before your next fill date. Same deal as with the pain meds..though I can't understand how you find abusing Sub to be "worth it" or recreational in any way.

So yeah, cut back as low as you need so you don't run out till your next fill.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:19 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I have been in that spot before, too.... the first month i was on suboxone, I took too much. and I didnt care that I ran out. but I have an understanding doctor, and Ive never lied to him.....

anyway, like Ironic said, cut back to 1 or 1 and a half a day,,,, whatever you need to do , to make it to your refill.

You will figure out sooner or later, that taking more than your dose, doesnt 'pay off' in any way.

at least it never has for me.....and I think its just the old compulsive behavior of

'maybe if I take ONE more, I'll feel EVEN better"