It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:36 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:54 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello,
I've been on Suboxone for approx. 11 months. I've been trying to taper for the last month and a half. I'm done to 4 mg per day. I called and talked to the Suboxone Dr. today and let her know I'm still trying to taper and need to go lower down in doses before jumping off. She suggested that I switch to Subutex that it's easier to taper and go off Subutex than Suboxone? Is this true? She also said if I do the taper right I shouldn't be really sick with withdrawls? Help!

Post subject: suboxone or subutex...
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:10 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

i am no expert, but subutex and suboxone are the same medication, which is buprenorphine...the only difference is that suboxone has naloxone in it where as subutex doesnt...but then again the naloxone isnt absorbed when taken sublingualy, so i see no reason why tapering off one would be any different than the other, buprenorphine is buprenorphine either way you look at it, but like i said, i'm no expert.
but i would be interested to know how you do or if i am wrong... :) good lucj to you!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:59 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Subutex comes in 0.4mg tablets (at least in the uk as well as 2mg & 8mg)
Am in opposite situation on subutex changin to suboxone reluctantly. I live in the UK and that seems to be the way things are goin now.
Dont really like the sound of naloxone being in my tablets even if its not absorbed.
also suboxone is in a lemon/lime flavour supposedly

:?:

Our Sponsors
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 11:28 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster