It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 4:40 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi all. I'm 36 and have been on 40 mgs of methadone for the last 15 years, prescribed to me to treat chronic back pain. 4 10 mg pills a day. Last month, for the first time ever, my Dr randomly drug tested me and I got popped with dope in my urine. It was not a good day. I had been sniffing dope a couple time a week for roughly 8 months for a variety of reasons. My Dr decided he was not going to keep me on the methadone anymore, no surprise there, and switch me to subs. I've been slowly weening off the methadone since. I'm currently taking 2 and a half pills now, with the goal of getting down to 1 pill a day. At that time I will stop the methadone and make the switch.
My problem is my back pain. Its been very hard to live with just taking the 2 and a half pills a day, never mind any less. I brought this up at my last appointment but my Dr thinks it is too risky to switch me at any higher a dose. I have an appointment tomorrow. Would it make any sense to switch me from methadone to a shorter acting opiate for a few weeks? Then stop taking that opiate for a day or two and switch to the subs? Its been very difficult to stop taking dope, ween off methadone, and be in pain all at once. I really just want to get this over with and onto the subs as soon as I can. Any advice is really appreciated. Thanks!

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:30 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Welcome risub...

I don't think it would be legal for your doctor to switch you to a short acting opiate under these circumstances. On the ongoing methadone taper, I think the protocol is you want to be down to somewhere between 20-30 mg's a day....maybe as high as 40...then abstain for some days...maybe as much as 4 days before switching over.