It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:46 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi, My name is Mike and am currently taking 35 mg a day of liquid methadaone, I have been doing this for 5 yrs and had a pill habit for a few years before that. I was at 60 mg 2 yrs ago and have been slowly dropping and have a appt with a suboxone doctor thrusday. I am excited and scared. The doctor will write me the intial script onmy first appt, and I am sure he will go over everything with me, I just really need this to work for several reasons,
I was wondering do I need to go to 30 to avoid pw or if I wait until I have sufficient wd symptmoms, will I be ok?
I have done 48 hrs before, but usually by 48 im feeling pretty bad, I was gonna try and wait until sometime that 3rd day to start suboxone,. I guess another question i have is, will I be able to work on day 4(2nd day on subs) I know it is impsooible to know, just trying to get any feedback to help with the transition. My insurance covers the cost of suboxone and even with pot positive on u/a I will only have to go twice a month. Thanks to all that read and respond. Thanks in advance for your time.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:49 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

HI

I made the switch from methadone to suboxone, about 16months ago. best thing I ever did. Be glad you are on a rather low dose of methadone, I think you'll be just fine to wait 30 hours.
I waited two days, and took some oxy, the day before to kind of take the 'edge' off. methadone has a really long half life, you probably already know that, LOL

anyways, I was taking way over 100mg a day, for like a year and half, so my induction was pretty rough. I tapered down two weeks before to about 80mg a day, but I still had days that I did a 'binge' couldnt help it, Im an addict, after all.