It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:14 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello, I'm pretty new to this sight and to suboxone. I want to change doctors because my current sub doc doesn't take insurance. I'm paying her currently 250.00 dollars a visit and it just doesn't make sense to have medical insurance and not use it. My question is do I have to go back through the induction process and what procedure do I have to go through to switch doctors? Thanks for your time and feedback.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:46 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

It depends on the doctor. Many times, doctors will not work with someone who is already in a Sub program - you may get lucky though. There is no need to re-do an induction if you are stabilized on the medication- but every doctor does things differently. Finding a suboxone physician in your insurance network may be tough, I suggest looking into a psychiatrist that concentrates on addiction. You can do usually do this online when you pull up a list a docs in your area. Either that or go to the physician locator:
SAMHSA Buprenorphine Treatment Locator

Good luck to you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:33 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Shelwoy is correct in that it really does depend on the new doctor. Although you don't need a re-induction, some will insist on it. In addition to the physician locator she gave you, there are three others that I'm aware of, they are NAABT.org, suboxone.com, and suboxone-directory.com.

I found my current doctor on one of those sites and he also happens to be a family doctor and he takes my insurance. So for me it's just like seeing any doctor, $15 office co-pay and $20 co-pay for my meds. With any luck you can find someone like that as your new sub doc.

Good luck and let us know how it goes. And welcome to the site! We're glad you found us.