It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Surgery while tapering
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:00 pm 
One Month or More
One Month or More

Hello all, first post here. Let me begin by saying that I fully intend to spend hours of my time looking through these boards. I am thrilled something like this exists. I think my wife is on here somewhere too, not for her abuse-she's clean-but for mine.
At first I was hesitant to post a question that's already been asked and answered, but I seem to be having trouble with the search function. When I search for "taper schedule" or "liquid taper", the search doesn't seem to be able to search for exact phrase. I think I am just missing something because I am a newbie here. So that's my first question.

I was on high dose Subutex for 6+ years. That's behind me now and I am breaking little subutex tabs in eighths and taking on average 2mg/day. I am ready to go to 1mg daily. Once I can search properly I'll figure out a taper schedule. Looks like cutting the expensive 1mg strips is the way to go. Or Subzolv? Also $10 per unit. I'm in the US, and never heard of a liquid form until I saw it here.

Second question: I have to have cervical disc replacement. It is probably weeks or months in the future. My guess is that lowering the sub dose as much as possible in that time is the smart thing to do. I'm in terrible pain now, but dealing with it. I am drug free, except subs, for those 6+ years. Any thoughts? I should have the doctor give the post-op meds to my wife, I think. I just don't know what my tolerance would be like after going from 2mg/day to <1mg/day in a period of a month or two. I'm scared of post op pain being a trigger. The doc said with determination, I could posssibly be off post-op meds in 5-7 days. Anyone have a similar experience or have any advice?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:11 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster