It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:55 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

How would you prefer to manage Suboxone for surgery?
Poll ended at Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:23 am
Stop Suboxone, take hydrocodone, etc, restart Suboxone later. 14%  14%  [ 1 ]
Continue Suboxone at lower dose, take hydrocodone, increase Suboxone after hyrdocodone stopped, taper dose back down. 86%  86%  [ 6 ]
Total votes : 7
 Post subject: Surgery and Suboxone
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 5:23 am 
New Poster
New Poster

[font=Trebuchet] [/font]
I've been prescribing Suboxone for five years and have had many patients who have had painful procedures from a root canal to ankle fusion to gall bladder removal. The common wisdom is to stop Suboxone five days before surgery, manage pain with the usual opiates through and after surgery, stop opiates and begin Suboxone again. I've never liked this method since it leaves patients open to relapse and have seen it happen to some managed in the traditional, recommended manner. I prefer to cut back on the dose of Suboxone for several days before surgery but continue it during and after surgery. Then I ask the surgeon to leave the post-op pain management to me after a few tablets of something such as Vicodin ES or HP are prescribed at discharge and recommend a higher dose than would normally be used (to overcome the partial antagonist property of buprenorphine). I quickly discontinue the traditional opiates and if necessary treat any ongoing pain with increased doses of Suboxone (for up to a week). At this point, I taper the dose rapidly to what it was before surgery for maintenance. As I said, I've had great success with this method, have not lost any patients to relapse and kept my patients as comfortable as would be possible (and usually more so than with the traditional opiates when discontinuing Suboxone before the surgery). A significant part of my practice is pain management, especially for those in recovery for both short term pain (surge