It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:57 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:12 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello all,
I guess I'll start with a little bit of a back story. I have been using opiates for about 9 months now. I went from percocet-oxycontin-heroin. About two months ago I finally got help. Unfortunately, it was not from a doctor though. I have no health insurance, but am unable to get Medicaid (I've tried numerous times now; I'm ineligble). Long story short, a friend of mine who takes suboxone has been helping me detox. This is how I've been going about getting off the opiates: I've taken 8mg tablets, breaking them up into four. For two days I would take 2 mgs, on the third day take 1mg, then on the third and fourth and fifth day split up the last 1mg. It would go pretty well. I wasn't very comfortable the entire time, but this is something I need to do so badly I will do anything to do it. However, in the past two months I've relapsed three times. For one day I would binge on whatever opiate I could get and then go back to the same rapid taper. I'm on my fourth taper right now, day #2, and my questions is this. Since in the last two months I've relapsed three times, but stayed on the suboxone as well of the same technique, will tapering be easier or harder since I've been doing it for two months now? I'm asking this because this has to be the final taper. I'm sure these words have come out of every addict's mouth, but this isn't who I am and I have to fight it with the limited resources I have I am getting my first professional job after graduating college and cannot risk this drug use becoming an issue. If anyone has any recommendations on an extremely rapid taper, I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:40 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member