It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:48 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hey All,

My name is James and I am 25 and I have been on sub now for about 2 years. All I can think about latley is getting past my 4mg hump. I have gotten a HUGE boost of confidence from this site and I am a little more confident now that I can quit. All my friends that I know that are on sub are currently taking a higher dosage than I am so I guess they are looking at me to see what I do and what worked/didn't work.
I'm off topic...Sorry.
I have been a smoker for about 4-5 years now and I smoke Methol's. I am starting to question whether or not smoking and sub are "dual triggers"... I say this because my current girlfriend of 7 mths is a cross coutry runner and I am an artist (when i'm not working...hehe) and she has been on my case about quitting. I DO think about quitting all the time. It stinks, kills, and is EXPENSIVE in WI. ($8+ a pack) But I have noticed that right after I take sub, (after it dissolves in my mouth) I smoke. I know that I used to take a small piece of sub just because my ciggs would "taste better" after the sub dissolved in my mouth. Now I remember when I was on my DOC (Oxy's) that I would SMOKE LIKE A CHIMNEY when I was high. I know that back in the 1800's they would prescribe heroin or something like it to people with asthma. I'm not a doctor but maybe someone including myself can try looking up if sub inhibits a reaction to the lungs or throat of some kind. But I do know FOR SURE that most of it is all psycological for me and in my head I beliece that sub makes smoking more enjoyable and smoking makes subs more enjoyable even though in reality it PROBABLY doesn't.

I really think, reguardless if sub is a trigger or not, for me if I quit smoking it will be that much easier to successfully complete my sub program.