It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:03 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:25 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi, I have been a user of opiates and used suboxone to deal in the past. I am considering getting a prescription, however I plan to purchase a handgun and assault rifle(which falls under handgun) in Maryland. Could getting this script make it so that I cannot purchase these weapons? Thanks in advance.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:42 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I am no expert on gun laws to say the least but I am pretty sure in my state you would have to have been committed to a state institution in order for anyone to even be aware of any such script. How would anyone know?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:15 am 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

I was going to get my 'carrying permit' (actually called "concealed weapons permit" which allows us to carry handguns....I already own a few handguns and several rifles and shotguns, but I cannot carry the handguns, not even if I was hunting unless I had a special Sportsman permit, and then it would only be allowed for hunting, which I don't have.....according to my state's laws, as I understand them) but after I started the suboxone program, somone had told me (I know, 'hear say') that by me actually getting help in treatment for a chemical dependancy problem, I would not be able to get a carrying permit. I really didn't do too much research but I may now since I am even more curious. That is the only reason why I didn't fill out the application, because I thought it would be a waste for me, I have the app. already, just not filled out.