It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:50 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Suboxone or not?
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:40 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello everybody. Just found this website via the good Doc's YouTube videos. Well, I obviously have a history of drug abuse, but I have been on Suboxone exclusively for ~8 months, and was rarely using drugs before that. However, I have been buying them illicitly, which I know is not recommended, however, I have reasons for doing so. My main reason is 1. I don't really have the money to pay out of pocket for the doctor's appointments and the prescriptions 2. I'm legally an adult, but still basically depend on my parents, and they don't really understand the full extent of my drug problem 3. I am a college student getting a degree in Government and International Politics - I already have one arrest on my record, however the charges were dismissed. I am afraid if my being prescribed suboxone would present problems with future job prospects, particularly government jobs with security clearances?

So...I have seriously considered trying to come up with the cash to fill a prescription "off the record." The only thing is, my cheapest option right now is my local Community Services Board...a government organization, albeit local, but government none the less.

I am also concerned because I will be taken off my parents insurance in less than a year and have to get my own. Will being a suboxone patient make this impossible?

What do you guys think I should do? Just try and give drugs up altogether and save myself the trouble? Try and pay in cash at a private doctor? Just not worry about it, and go through the Community Service's Board's program? Part of me really doesn't want to take suboxone forever, but my supply lines have run thin at a very inopportune time, so I feel like I'm not quite ready to go completely cold turkey yet.