It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:16 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Suboxone vs. Methadone
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 10:17 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi everyone- I have a question for everyone who has tapered off of Suboxone in comparison to Methadone. You don't really have to have had to come off of Methadone also before--

Anyways. I am curious as to how long a "normal" tapering is off of Suboxone? Or if there is a "normal"? I worked as a nurse at a methadone clinic and we always told the clients to go low and slow- that way they did not feel the effects of withdrawal as badly.

I have a relative who has came off of methadone once-- it was horrific. He tapered down 15mg and then went cold turkey at 60mg. Night sweats, leg cramps, insomnia...Horrible!

Now, this same relative is about to taper off of Suboxone (first time on it because of a relapse). I read someones post about going down 4-8mg a day and that people don't usually feel withdrawals by doing it that way. I am not certain what dose he is on but 4-8mg per day sounds high to me.

Also, I have started a new blog: https://iloveanaddict.com Please check it out sometime! Thanks for the help!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:54 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I've never completely detoxed off methadone. The lowest I got was about 15mg right before my switch to suboxone. It was a fast taper though, so I don't know how much was still in my system when you take into account the half life. Anyway, despite lacking experience in detoxing from methadone, I firmly believe sub detox is easier. The fact that methadone is a full agonist might have something to do with it? I remember how I felt tapering down on methadone and it was pretty bad. Slow and steady is the way to go either way. Jumping from 60mgs of methadone is insane, IMO.