It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:22 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:49 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi everyone - I am new here. I have been taking suboxone since July 2012. Prior to that I was taking IR oxycodone, 90mg a day for roughly about 18 months. I was dependent...not sure I was ever "addicted"...at least as I understand the difference. If I lowered or didn't take my oxy dose, I'd experience withdrawal symptoms. I started in the opiate world as a chronic pain patient in 2011. I have severe constant neck pain (I am 35 years old). I switched pain doctors, as I didn't like the rollar coaster IR oxycodone schedule I was on. Thats when I switched to suboxone. I started at 8mg...quickly was down to 4mg (after maybe 2 weeks). Ive been hovering between 1 and 2mg per day of suboxone for the last several months. I'd say it helps my pain moderately...maybe takes away about 30% of it...which is enough to function. Doesn't control it like the oxy did...but then again doesn't have the ugly oxy side effects. In addition...for the last few months I've been struggling on the 2mg a day dose...I break it up and take 1mg in the morning and 1mg in the evening. Doesn't always take away withdrawal symptoms (restless legs and anxiety). I should say about 2 months ago, I switched to Butrans patch 10mcg...only 1 month's worth and it didn't work well for me. I switched back to suboxone...and it was around this time that I started struggling on my daily dose.

My doctor is very nice...very helpful. He has helped taper several patients off suboxone with minimal or no withdrawal (which I confirmed with a few patients there). I know it has to be done slowly...the problem is my chronic pain. Well that's one problem...the suboxone makes things bearable...just barely but without it I'm in horrible daily pain.