It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:26 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

I've been reading this stuff on the internet and you can't believe everything on the internet but I am just starting to learn about opiate receptors and want to know if suboxone helps with the issue or just makes it worse

I'm having trouble finding this answer in other threads so if this is discussed somewhere else in another thread please just point me in the right direction

I've read that when people take opiates (like the first time), that the dopamine floods their opiate receptors like 100x as much as the brain is used to. To adapt to this environment, the brain creates more opiate receptors. Then, when there is no dopamine coming in at all, the brain is starved because instead of having the original 1 opiate receptor empty, it has tons of empty opiate receptors, and it thinks it is in pain and dieing because of all of the empty receptors. So to avoid dieing it tells the body to go seek out more opiates.

(In scientific terms I am sure this is the most basic way of ever explaining something us un-scientific people will never understand or maybe it's complete BS -- i would like your peoples' opinions)

So, when you stop taking opiates and are trying to kick your habit, that you get really depressed because any time you get a natural release of dopamine, your brain just thinks "that's not enough!" because it has tons of opiate receptors that are empty, starved, depressed, versus just that original 1 (or however many).

So when you take more opiates, you just create more opiate receptors and make the process worse.