It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:25 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have been checking these forums everyday for 3 months but, never posted anything..... Here we go!! I have been an addict my whole adult life and even before then I should signs of addict behavior. I have tried almost every drug but, opiates were my favs. It all came crashing down on me about 10 months ago. I went through an outpatient program and relapsed shorlty after I got out. I then found a sub doctor and started sub. I have been on it for about 8 months Ive had to switch doctor because my first one was all about the $$$$ now I have a great doctor!

I have weened down to 7mg from 16 and Im doing good. Some anxiety for about a week when I dropped from 10 to 8. Is that normal? My doc prescribed me Vistaril to help with it. Im so scared to make the jump, I have been thinking about jumping at 4mg Im going to be sick either way .01 or 4mg. Idk we'll see. God bless this site because before i found here I cant tell me how many times I would almost be in tears reading others sub stories and how awful they were. I know its not going to be easy but, Im prepared and ready when the time comes. Sub has given me time to distance myself from my drug life and has shown me what it can be like moving foward. One day at a time!! Thanks

Post subject: Getting off Suboxone
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:36 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Whenever I hear that someone wants to get off Suboxone, I feel like I have to ask them what they have done to be ready to handle life without it. I'm not saying you are not ready, but I don't know you, so if I just immediately responded with tapering advice, it maybe wouldn't be the best advice. Do you truly believe you are ready to deal with cravings and triggers? You have to ask yourself those hard questions and decide.