It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 12:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:36 am 
One Month or More
One Month or More

I will be doing some reading today about taper methods but am curious if it's plausible to get off Subutex while still working? I just started a great new job and also suffer from Lupus and need to accrue as many days as possible for flares.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:21 am 

Hi NY, I have no experience with tapering below 4mgs and from what I have read that is when it can start to get tricky. However, I have read that with a very slow taper, you can eliminate most of the really tough symptoms. I know there are many taper methods out there and a section here about tapering as well. I am sure people with much more information will respond soon. Good luck and please keep us informed as to how you are doing!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:46 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

I've had literally a couple people taper while working-- but they both had 'white collar' jobs where they could set their own hours, and coast during the 7-10 days when things were bad.

I tell my patients that they need a week off work to get through the detox process. The main advantage to being off work is that I can prescribe a benzo, like clonazepam... which makes the clock move much more quickly.

Tapering off buprenorphine while working can be done... just like some people can run a mile in 4 minutes. Both require a person who is extremely motivated. Can YOU do it? Maybe--- or maybe not. My general recommendation is to use FMLA to get off work for 1-2 weeks-- and stop buprenorphine entirely starting a couple days before FMLA starts.

Good luck!

Our Sponsors
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:59 am 
One Month or More
One Month or More