It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 2:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:27 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

So, I've been on suboxone for about 2 years, my original addiction was vicodin, during those 2 years I was on 8mg / day, and as of now, I've tapered to 1mg / day... and my doctor has decided that he will no longer provide any more suboxone, other than the 2 to 3 days I have left of it, because most of the issues are "in my head", or "psychological", as he says. I do have some major anxiety / panic disorder issues, along with PTSD as I'm an OEF war vet. But, as much as I'd like to just stay on the suboxone for the rest of my life, I don't like the fear of running out... ruling my life. So for the most part, I agree that I should stop suboxone.

But I am so freaking scared.

I went through a day of vicoden withdrawls, as that was the worst pain I ever felt; last week, I tried to stop suboxone (though I still had the pills in my possession) but it got really bad; that was the second worst pain I ever felt... in a all-encompasing way as the suboxone withdrawls were heavily mentally painful as well as physically painful. It was like a really bad flu, but with these disturbing cold sweats (that was 36 hours after the final suboxone). The mental issues in the withdrawl were even worse, I just wanted to die, it was like all the negative emotions in the world consumed me... but mostly a ton of anxiety with a touch of depression.

So, you can imagine my ambivilence about actually stopping this time, with no suboxone pills in my possession (or other opiates, I threw them all out), so I'm hoping that those here who have experience with coming off suboxone and the withdrawls will have some advice for me, and will be able to answer some of my questions (and hopefully remove any un-needed fears I have). I really appreciate the help.