It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Somethings gotta give
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:04 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi there i have been using ivheroin for about 4 years and in the last year have taken sub 4 or 5 days out of the wk and almost always giving into the temptation on thursday (payday). I use. Get clean and when the cash hits my hand it atarts burning a hole in me. Im fed up , also unfortunatleyi atill have to buy subs off street each week. I think if i saw a soc and gota supply it would help bcause i love subs for making me normal anybody else? Can u relate?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:05 am 

Hi Ian,

I do think you should start seeing a sub doctor if you are serious about wanting to stay off heroin. You are using some sub to stave off withdrawals, but it's probably not a therapeutic dose and it doesn't have time to stack up in your system. Therefore, you don't get the benefit of reduced cravings. I think it would be much easier to succeed if you were taking a steady, higher dose of sub. When I was induced on sub and given a therapeutic dose, I stopped obsessing over getting high. It makes a huge difference in my recovery that I wasn't feeling withdrawal symptoms, but wasn't craving either.

Being under the care of a sub doctor also means that you are often compelled to get some sort of therapy to help with understanding the reasons you became addicted. My addictions counselor gave me practical ideas on how to regain some normalcy in my life. You could also start going to a 12 Step group, or another support group. And a lot of people use this forum as a recovery tool as well.

I wish you luck in breaking the cycle that you're in. I know it's hard to make that leap, but it's soooo worth it!

Amy

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:04 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster