It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Simple question
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 5:46 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Just a simple question can suboxone help get off methadone taking 40 mg a day or should i take all the oxys i have first to get off methadone or just start suboxone just sick of all of it thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:41 am 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi tkrocks -

Your simple question has a complicated answer.

I hope that you are doing this with a suboxone doctor... are you?

I AM NOT A DOCTOR - SO ALL OF THIS IS JUST AN OPINION.

Methadone is more difficult to move to suboxone over standard release type opiates. It has a longer half life, and the equivalency of suboxone and methadone is around 30-40mg's.

So, you can see where you are at a very tricky spot. If you could be lower on methadone, or comfortable for a couple of weeks on a standard 4 hour type release opiate - it would probably be an easier transition and induction.

That said, there are people here who have gone right from methadone to suboxone. The difference seems to be a couple things:

1- How much methadone are you on. 30 or less is better than 40.
2- How long do you wait for the right COWS score with Methadone's long half life?

The answers are hard. On a standard 4 hour type opiate - the rule of thumb is 24 hours from last dose. That was me. Runny nose, mild stomach issues, leg pain, etc.

To have the same great response I had, you probably have to go a few days without any opiate/methadone. Then the induction may not be as quick as you have lingering methadone in your system.