It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:30 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here. I've been reading these forums for a few years now, just lurking around. Anyway, here is my story.

My pill addiction started about 10 years ago when my wife cheated on me and left me, taking our 3-year old son with her (he is now 13). So anyway that is how I got started. At my rock bottom I was taking 15-20 Norcos a day, stealing from my parents, buying on the street, etc. I eventually was introduced to Suboxone from a neighbor who got treatment for a heroin addiction.

So I found a good doctor, and have been seeing him for about 3 years now. A few relapses have happened in the past. Originally I was started on 16mg, but within a month I went down to 8mg. I am now on a schedule of 3/4 of 8mg one day, 1/2 for the next 2 days, and then start over. I've found this schedule very difficult to manage. This taper started around the worst possible time in my life (August of 2014).

At that time, my father passed away from sudden cardiac arrest (I had to perform cpr on him to try and save him), lost my job, etc etc etc. So, long story short, I started taking more that I should. Instead of doing 3/4,1/2,1/2 I started taking 3/4,1/2,3/4. Doesn't sound like much right? But my doctor is very strict when it comes to filling a script. He fills it TO THE DAY, which I understand.. but when I take a little extra I run low.

That brings me to today. I took my last half last night. My next doctors appointment isn't for another 9 days. I've suffered through before, coming up 3 or 4 days short. It is terrible. This time I decided I have to be HONEST with my doctor and tell him that this way just isn't working for me. I feel like I'm on pills again... counting, worrying, suffering.