It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:29 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:43 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I am just curious, now that I am finishing up with my sub treatment and basically clean/sober, and since I am single and soon will have no kids in the house, if I should meet someone and start to date, how obligated am I to share my situation with them? Do I disclose that I am/was an addict? Do I share that I was/have been on ORT? I am new to the dating thing and also new to being not on drugs... BTW how would one go about meeting like~minded people, since I do not go to bars and have dumped a lot of my so called "friends". I do not go to the gym, I much prefer walking the beach (& it is free) I will not do the online thing. Not a NA person either nor am I religeous. I am a therapist and it is considered unethical to date clients. Guess theres lots of new experiences coming up this year... Can not wait till summer

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:26 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Yeah it's a hard one to grapple - when to break the history to someone you're dating / involved with. They do need to know at some stage. I think there's no hard and fast answer, because it depends a LOT on the person you're seeing. You can get a vibe early on, based on their personality, of how accepting they will be of your being in recovery.

It's strange, but I think as recovering addicts, we are often attracted to people who've come up against some kind of adversity in life, even if we don't know it at the time. You can kind of tell by one's personality and wisdom whether they've had their own life changing experiences that will create a mutual understanding. Ie - When everything a person talks about is superficial and material, it's a sign for me they haven't had something shake up their world like we have. And in my experience, they're the ones least accepting of a history like our own.