It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:17 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 12:48 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi all, this is my first time posting and I am in dire need of some advice. I have been on and off Suboxone for the past 3 years, and have been doing really well with it the past 12 months. I started a year ago at 8mg and just started tapering last month. I did one full month at 6mg and didn't really have any problems, so my doctor said let's do another month at 6mg and see how it goes. Well, the day after my doctors visit I lost my job, and I became very stressed and depressed. The 6mg was doing fine during the day, but when I tried to sleep I started craving more, and for the past 2 weeks I've been almost double dosing. I understand the problem here, I'm just a little nervous and not sure how to ask my doctor for help. I've been thinking of seeing a counselor lately, and this incident really makes me think it is necessary, so I definitely plan to start immediately. But in the meantime how should I talk to my doctor about this? I know I need to tell him the truth...does anybody have any idea of what I might expect him to say? I'm worried of being kicked from the program. I don't think he is a very strict doctor, but this does seem like a pretty big deal. This is my first time having something like this ever happen, and I'm hoping that if I am honest with him, and agree to take steps necessary to prevent it from happening again that he will work with me...

Thanks for any input :)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2014 1:03 am 

I agree with you. Be honest and just say what you said here. He sounds compassionate so you probably will just have a discussion and agree on a dose that will stop those cravings again.

6 mg's should have done that though. You could be one of those who have a fast metabolism where it wears off sooner than it does for other patients. We have several members here with that.