It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Opium?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:04 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Opium? What the hell is it really? For years it was nothing more than word that came up in drug pop culture. Why did I need to know anything about that word anyway? Cheech & Chong were synonymous with smoking pot. Tony Montana was associated with cocaine. Heroin was something skid-row bums shot-up; I didn't have to worry about that one because I'm not a skid-row bum, right? I live in a nice conservative southern neighborhood and I've never had a problem with drugs.

By the time I graduated college in 1991, I had partied hard just like any average student. I drank, did drugs: smoked pot, snorted coke on rare occasions. I even had an opportunity to do mushrooms but chickened out. I'm not into getting sick with head spins and that kind of thing, I'm pretty much of a light weight. Occasionally I would drink too much and get the bad hangover. Or, come home for the weekend and join an intimate group of friends who could score coke. Smoking dope is not a problem. In fact drugs have never been a problem for me. When I entered the post graduation era of my life the party lifestyle of college was phasing out and my professional life became a priority. The extent of my drug use after college can be characterized by the occasional drinking on the weekends and at social events plus the very rare event - when it was a holiday or something - some pot or cocaine was available. All my employers drug test. Never mind the fact that I wasn't a drug addict. I could take it or leave it; I've been around plenty of drugs and I have always had a genuine respect for their potential for harm.