It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:26 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi guys. If I've been snorting 2 mg a day(bio-availability saves $) for approx 6 months how long until Suboxone is out of my system? Does half-life remain the same? If so, I imagine it would be about 3 days. Please help if possible, thanks- I'm having surgery soon and will need pain relief.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:38 am 
Super Poster
Super Poster

I'll try to answer, and maybe someone will jump in if I am wrong, but you are just absorbing it through a different mucous membrane. Your body is still breaking it down by the same process so I would venture to say that yes, it would keep the same half life.

But I would think that on a 2MG dose that you would have plenty of open MU receptors open (I think I've seen 60% open somewhere), and therefor would have no real issue with pain relief as long as your doc understands you may need a little more, not a lot more, but more.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:03 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

the half life is the same because its the same drug but the absorption is less than sublingual

Our Sponsors
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:49 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Thanks so much. Does this mean it will be out of my system fully in 72 hours since half-life is 36? I don't want to have to take a lot of morphine and some doctors don't go past a certain limit anyways.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 8:37 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

The half life is not a set-in-stone, or exact time frame. It varies, and could be between 24 hours and up to 72 hours in some people. Everyone is different, and their metabolism's are also different. The 36-37 hours is a mean, or average for most people.

And half life means exactly that = HALF. In a set amount of time, half the drug dissapates, or leaves your system, and half would remain.