It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:15 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I've been on Suboxone for almost a week now, and have quickly tapered down from 4mg/day to 2mg/day currently. I plan to stop taking it entirely in two days.

I know that all the patient information and experts say not to drink alcohol, but honestly, at this low of a dose, is one beer okay? I have a social event this evening and will want to have a beverage.

Thoughts? Thanks, this is my first time posting here!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:32 pm 
Welcome epicurean! I hope you'll come back and tell us more about you.....about your addiction and recovery and your experiences with Suboxone. You'll find a lot of information here on the forum....plenty of discussion about short-term treatment with Sub, pro and con.
I won't go into that now, I'll just answer your question to the best of my ability.
I'm not a doctor or an expert and if your doctor has told you not to have any alcohol, then I wouldn't go against that.
I've been on Suboxone for about 7 months. I have never and do not have any issues with alcohol, and I don't drink it too often. I have had a glass or two of wine two or three times since I've been on Sub. It caused me no problems at all. I think I was on 8mg/day the first time or two, and was on around 4mg/day the last time I had a glass of wine. I have a pretty low tolerance to alcohol. I felt zero difference in the way I've ever felt when I drank a glass of wine. It didn't make me sick or make me feel bad in any way. I have heard others say that drinking while on Sub did make them feel bad, but not me.

Please come back and read some more about stopping Suboxone. It may be more difficult than you expect if you plan on jumping off at 2mg/day. Best of luck to you and hope you have fun at your event this evening.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:42 pm 
Average Poster