It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Online Sponsors?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:55 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi everyone! As I stated in my introduction, I'm a newbie to this kind of thing. This question may have been asked in another forum, if so, I apologize for being repetitive. I have been in Sub treatment for 10 months. I go to the sub doc and see my counselor weekly. My counselor is concerned because I have very little support in my life. I know one of the steps of recovery is being honest about your addiction, however, my family is extremely judgmental, and my mother is elderly with health issues, I fear that this news would literally give her a heart attack. So, because of this, my counselor suggested that I look for a sponsor online. Has anyone heard of this or better yet, has anyone obtained a sponsor online? Where do I start? I'm a very timid person, and take meds for social anxiety issues, so he feels that online is the way for me to go. Does anyone have any experience or info they can share with me? Thanks in advance!

Post subject: Re: Online Sponsors?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:08 pm 

Welcome to your in life Life!.. glad you suboxone and Suboxone Forum. I should suggest also reading Dr Junigs TalkZone. This Man knows everything Suboxone!..

I should ask, what kind of sponsor is this for? Meani g, you need a 12 step sponsor? Or looking for a re overy person, a "go to" person who has bn there before?
Reason im asking is, an addict alone is im need of friends an straight forward help. Being areound other addicts with re overy , I feel , is the best way to learn, and stay clean. Are thinking of an AA or NA Group?
We addicts are all a bit shy at first. Getting honest is important but what ive come to understand is this dosnt mean everyone close to us needs to know all about us.