It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:18 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have been injecting Heroin on and off for 3 or 4 years. The last few times I used it was just a little bit and I was able to recover with one 8mg suboxone (actually it was subutex) so then that was working for me too well and of course I tried doing that everytime. But I've grown tired of it and just want to be happy and healthy. A friend suggested doing as many subs as I could afford and then taper off, so I did that with 6 of them but towards the end I got scared I wasn't going to be able to take care of my baby so I broke down and got more H. I'm on day 2 of withdrawal and feel so terrible of course. Now I don't know whether I should take my last 2 over the course of 4 to 8 days or what. If I do that, will I still feel shitty after that? I need a plan cause I can't have other people watching my kid.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:27 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

My best advice is to do whatever it takes to get on a legit maintenance dose via a doctor. I say this because I have yet to meet or know anyone who has successfully detoxed themselves off of heroin for longer than a few days (give or take.) You know what I'm saying? The only two options I've seen even emotively work, are proper maintenance and hardcore rehab. And the rehab is sketchy at best, most everyone I know eventually relapsed after leaving rehab. The people that I know who are clean from heroin today (besides a few older folks who did it rehab style) used ORT.. either suboxone, or methadone, or a combination.

I am sure you are struggling and a Mother, but this is the bed thing you could do for your child. I hope you can find a way to do it right.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:35 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster