It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:41 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: hi i am new
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:52 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi everyone.

I am new to Suboxone. I am however not new to being an addict. I have been reading so much good and bad about suboxone on this site that I am hopeful and scared all at once.

Thank you for letting me share
Hobbies from NC

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:39 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi wdfmom,

Welcome to the forum!!

I'm glad you've been reading around the forum, there's lots of good information here.

If you don't mind talking about it, what kind of things are you reading about Suboxone that are scaring you?

Post subject: the scary part
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 2:17 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

What scares me is not being able come off this drug. Than I read about hair loss. Teeth rotting.
Correct me if I am wrong but no one knows the long term effects of this drug.
thanks for listening
bobbie

Our Sponsors
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:18 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hey Bobbie,

Try not to let the hair loss or the teeth rotting thing get to you. I've been on this forum for a long time and the percentage of people who mention these "side effects" is very, very low. The hair falling out thing is rarely mentioned and there's really no way to tell if it's Suboxone or not. As for the teeth rotting, it's my understanding that opiates in general can cause some of us dry mouth. It's also my understanding that it's the dry mouth that causes dental issues. Suboxone is an opiate, so it may cause dry mouth too? Other members have mentioned using Biotene to help combat the dry mouth. You could give that a try if you feel you need to.

For what it's worth, I was on opiates (including my time on Suboxone) for almost 13 years, but I never experienced any issues with my hair falling out or any teeth issues.