It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:14 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:01 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

im new to subs,after a year of percocet about 10 a day my doctor put me on 8mg a day of subs that was 4 days ago i have not been able to sleep or eat any advice would be great im going nuts

Post subject: Dose
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:09 pm 

Hi big bore and welcome to the forum. For one, have you told your doctor about not feeling well on that dose? We (I) are not professionals but can only tell you what we have experienced.

8mg's a day for a 10 per day perc habit sounds to me like overkill. I would think 2mg's would be enough or maybe even 4. If it is really bothering you then maybe skip one day and drop your dose and see how you feel. It does take a little while for the body to adjust to the Suboxone. A lot of people have some difficulty in the beginning days.

With Suboxone, less is usually better when you start on it. Then if it doesn't stop the cravings you go up a little more until you hit the right dosage. I am not saying your doctor is wrong but from experience we have found Sub works better when you start low and work up. A lot of Dr.'s do just the opposite including my first Sub Dr. I had to taper down myself until I found the sweet spot.

Once you find the correct dose you will slowly stabilize over the next few days and weeks until you feel completely normal without any opiate cravings. That is the way it is supposed to work.

Hope you feel better soon and Welcome once more to our support forum.

Rule

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:19 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

dave is it normal not to eat or sleep 4days when starting? and i will try a lower dose.any recomendations on sleep?i can hardly function.thanks for the reply back

Our Sponsors
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:37 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi bigbore and WELCOME!!!! I agree with everything that