It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: new on suboxone
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:40 am 
New Poster
New Poster

hey everyone!
i am new to suboxone (so far i was on heroine or on methadone) and the problem is that i dont know anything really about the drug or anybody else who knows anything about it. i am living in the netherlands and suboxone is a pretty new drug here, they use it now for 2 months. somehow i got pushed into taking the suboxone by my doctors. the thing is that really dont trust them because it seems they also dont have much experiences yet with suboxone.so, my question here is that i just dont know what to expect when i start reducing it. i hope you can help me so i can prepair. i also know from stopping after a while with methadone that its horrible and taking ages, okay months.
okay, i started suboxone 2 months ago with 16 mg a day, after 2 weeks taking it but getting so high on it i started to reduce it. i am now on 10 mg a day. the thing is that i still feel a bit high on it, i also fall asleep while reading or watching tv which is not normal for me.
so i guess my questions are, do you guys think i am still on a too high doses, and what more or less (i know it differs from person to person) can i expect when tapering it after like 6 months ?
i hope someone can help me since i dont can really count on my doctors.
julia

Post subject: Re: new on suboxone
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:24 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Julia and welcome to you!

If you still feel high on 10mg a day, and are falling asleep while reading or watching TV, then yes, I would say your dose is still too high for you right now. Nodding off at times like you speak of is a classic symptom of a dose that's too high.